We used samples of original brickwork from St Giles House to created bespoke replacement bricks matching the colours, tones and textures of original brickwork. These were used in sympathetic repairs throughout the old building and laid in English Bond in the construction of the stunning new Loggia and apartment attached to the North Wing.
Brickwork on the South Terrace, already damaged by the removal of 1820’s render in the 1970s, had borne the brunt of weathering from the sun and rain. Where necessary perished bricks were repaired or replaced. A careful blending of coloured pointing was used to create an even appearance to the edges of the weathered brickwork, both preserving the original materials, blending in replacement bricks and creating a consistent appearance with less weathered sections of brickwork.
In recognition of the extensive programme of restoration the conserved brickwork has been left exposed as an internal feature in a gallery room which houses an exhibition on the transformation of St Giles House.